This is dedicated to KimC – of the Georgia Straight writers guild.

KimC

Jun 19, 2015 at 8:34am

Sadly, Mr Peachey and his ilk give Christianity and Abbotsford a bad name.
I live in Abbotsford and I am a Christian. I strive to follow the teachings of Jesus and live as he would, with love, compassion, and humbleness. I do not try to be perfect, and I do not force my views on others. I am a firm supporter of human rights for all, including the LGBTQ community. This is not a matter of “sexual preference”, it’s a matter of not discriminating against people who may be different from us. The bible is not to be taken literally, if so women would never cut their hair and no one would eat shellfish.
I am not alone in my thinking. I am a member of a church in Abbotsford that does not believe in a literal interpretation of the bible and is openly welcoming and affirming to the LGBTQ community. We have joined in the local pride walks and proudly displayed our banner in support of human rights for all.
I am very proud that the Mayor and Council have made this decision.

Dear KimC:

Probably the greatest tragedy on earth, beyond earthquakes, tornadoes, floods and droughts, is that the people of God have abandoned his Word.

You write, ……..”I am not alone in my thinking. I am a member of a church in Abbotsford that does not believe in a literal interpretation of the bible.”  ……. and by and large, you are right in what you say.  The church has lost it’s love for God.  The church has lost it’s power.  The church has lost it’s way, and can no longer lead the lost to Jesus.

The blind cannot lead the blind.

