1.  A BRIEF BACKGROUND:

IMG_3581

I’m 70 years old, happily married to Richard for 38 years, and grateful for our child and grandchildren.

Politics has been important for the better part of my life and makes up a lot of my reading.  I took advantage of opportunities to study political science, history and economics, etc. courses at Langara and at UCFV.

Richard retired from teaching so now we share a lot more of our time, jamming with our friends at local coffee houses, or singing in seniors homes.  We belong to the local naturalists as well as the local rock and gem club.

I’ve volunteered at Fraser Valley Institution since it first opened in Abbotsford.  When the election is over on Nov. 15th, I’ll resume driving women to various outings, but most of all I’ll be glad to again teach the women, how easy and versatile the guitar is, and how much joy music can bring to their lives.

Richard and I became Christians some 45 years ago, and there is nothing to compare with trusting the Lord God for everything we need, on earth and forever beyond the grave.

Within that over-arching faith, the question of origins shapes our world-view.  Biblical creation is of profound importance, both to Richard and me, so Rich lectures and writes extensively on the creation – evolution controversy, and so do I, but not at the same academic level.

My life, friendships, conversations and reading have formed a deep appreciation for our democratic system of governance.  Democracy is imperfect but vastly superior to any other system seen around the world.

People are anything but perfect, even Christians, so there must be checks and balances placed on the power wielded by government.  If we become apathetic or simply enjoy the blessings of our freedom within our western-style democracy, then we will most certainly lose those blessings.

The tendency of most mere mortals, upon achieving power, is to focus on maintaining the prestige and perks that go with government office.  So it is imperative that the governed strive to keep the rulers on a short leash.  Not at all an easy task.

2.  WHY ARE YOU RUNNING?

While living in Vancouver, I’d always heard Abbotsford called ‘The Bible Belt’, a descriptive that sounded great to me.  After moving here in 1984 a lot of inconsistencies started to show themselves.

So being somewhat naive, and trusting in the honesty and integrity of my local government, I would ask city hall about the things that I could see clearly were not in line with the by-laws as they were written.  I met with polite indifference.

I started to see that there were glaring problems with inconsistent by-law enforcement. City hall showed disdain for a lot of the people who asked staff to deal with problems affecting their neighbourhoods.

Time and the changing of mayors and councils has not touched that fundamental problem of a city leadership that lacks clear guidelines, and the courage to enforce the rules on everyone across the board.

I see little hope in the current mayor and the old guard who, rather than focus on matters within their mandate, have instead dragged our finances into costly, messy business and entertainment contracts.  Council has jumped into big business and big amusement, that should be left entirely up to private people willing to risk their own money and able to apply their unique expertise and drive,  necessary to ensure a profitable success story.  Bruce Banman is set on an economic development agenda that promises more financial disaster for Abbotsford taxpayers, so I hope Mr. Braun will win this election.

I also hope to be able to guide future decisions brought before council, which is why I’m a candidate in this race.

 

