• ………. that is, not enough profit.  The purveyors of filth did not leave because of some supposed moral outrage from Christians.
    Tony Bidwell  and Andrea Klassen, will be pleased to know that the churches in Abbotsford show little interest in what goes in in public facilities.
  • Tony Bidwell

    This is hilarious only in the bible belt of BC. boy you just can’t make stuff like this up… maybe if they throw some chicken manure around the brothel that will help to get rid of it….
  • Andrea Klassen ·  Top Commenter · Abbotsford, British Columbia

    Where was Gerda?? Why didn’t she shut these down sooner? You’re slacking off, obviously too busy picketing outside the Naughty but Nice show.
    • Gerda Peachey ·  Top Commenter · University of the Fraser Valley

      Why Andrea: This is one of the rare times I’ve read the Facebook for our local paper, since I prefer the print version. And to my surprise, I see my name,…….at least I think it might be me, though other people share my name. But since you ask, I will attempt to clarify – again, that I have never picketed outside the Taboo show. Tradex, and AESC (now hastily re-named to make us forget that council does not know how to run any business bigger than a road-side lemonade stand), are both publicly-owned facilities. That means they belong to you and me. I have written about the use of these for events that degrade and exploit (primarily) women. When the major newspapers flocked out here to interview me, I consistently told them the Taboo show was cancelled because it was not profitable enough for them. Rather than admit that, the producers tried to make it appear they were bowing to pressure from me, and my following of puritans. OFF CAMERA, those reporters agreed that this was a totally contrived attempt to arouse public passion, – something that seems easy to do. So in case you actually want to know, rather than join the mindless bandwagon, ………I have no following, no network, no connections, five friends (on a good day), and Rich and I
      do not belong to any church. Thanks for asking.

POSTSCRIPT:  When someone wants to disparage Abbotsford, in terms of Bible-belt, religious, narrow fundamentalist, and that sort of general impediment to ‘fun’ things, it seems my name has become a useful byword.

Canwest Productions, the lovely company behind the almost annual ‘Taboo’ sex show held at Tradex, thought it useful to use my name that way.

Rather than admit that their sleezy show was not lucrative enough, they attempted to portray their sudden withdrawal, 2 years ago, as being their principled response to the citizens of Abbotsford,………ie:  Gerda, and her band of outraged puritans.

They made that a central theme in their big news announcement, with predictable results.  Canwest may be skanky, but they are media savvy.  So there was a great hue and cry.  All kinds of outrage against me, and my narrow-minded band of followers.  I even saw an on-line petition against my stopping of the Taboo event.

For a day and a half the phone rang constantly, in our home.  Global TV and CBC TV made the trek out here for interviews, even though I said they could save themselves the bother.  The whole thing was manufactured, I am not particularly significant and most certainly have no following.

However those stalwarts did trek out because news is not made by everyday people living quiet, decent lives, there must be drama.  But it was gratifying to interact with some of those media over the phone and in person.  These people are sharp and they know how contrived and phoney a lot of the stuff they report on really is.

But Canwest maintained that it was primarily because of me and my followers, that they’d pulled the rug out from hundreds of people who’d expected to set up their booths and displays.  Would you expect honesty and integrity from a company that makes money exploiting vulnerable women to be objects of lust?

So the story was reported that way because Canwest/Taboo wanted to revive public interest in their failing sleeze-industry.

Occasionally I come across my name (the byword), used in that context, long after the Canwest baloney……..the latest being yesterday morning on the Abbotsford News Facebook.  The comment was up for 18 hours, but removed after I posted a reply.  Andrew Holota says that the News did not remove it, so then I assume ‘Andrea Klassen’ thought it perfectly alright to write ill-informed, public nonsense about me, but did not like the public rebuttal.

0 Comments Post your own or leave a trackback: Trackback URL

Leave a Reply

